Warangal Travel and Tourism Guide

The name of Warangal was Orugallu when it was the capital of Kakatiya Dynasty from 1195 to 1323 CE. The region was gifted with various monuments which included the temple of Lord Shiva, sturdy gateways, massive forts and situated near the Ramappa Lake. From 1323 to 1687, the region was ruled by various kingdoms like the Delhi Sultanate, Nayaks, Bahamani Sultanate and Golconda Sultanate till the Mughal emperor Aurangzeb finally captured in 1687. Later some part of Karnataka, Maharashtra and Telangana split from Mughals to form the state of Hyderabad in the year 1724. In 1948 Hyderabad province merged with the union of India, after India’s independence from the British. The state of Hyderabad was restructured with Telugu speaking regions including Warangal becoming a part of Andhra Pradesh. The recent history is the separate creation of Telangana state from Andhra Pradesh on 2 June 2014. Warangal is a part of this newly created state.

Phone Area Code
City Area(km)